Restricted Countries
Personal accounts are available only in listed UK/EEA countries; unavailable outside the service area and for US tax residents/citizens or where restrictions apply.
SourceYour research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading brokers…
Your research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading broker profile…

Lightyear is a UK and EU investing platform offering a multi-currency account and access to thousands of stocks, ETFs, money market funds, Baltic bonds and crypto assets, with regional differences between its UK FCA-regulated and EU EFSA-regulated entities.
Read first
84
/100
Overall
Overall is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.
UK and EU retail investors · Cost-conscious ETF and stock investors · Investors wanting EUR/GBP/USD multi-currency support
Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.
Before you decide
Minimum Deposit
No general minimum deposit was disclosed. Savings/Vaults states no minimums/no maximums and 'From 1€ to infinity'.
Spread From
Lightyear does not disclose a spread-from trading model for stocks/ETFs; pricing lists fixed/percentage order fees and 0.35% FX conversion fee.
Negative Balance Protection
No negative balance protection statement found; Lightyear appears to be cash/investment-only without leverage or short-selling.
Investor Compensation
EU investor protection up to €20,000; US securities held with Alpaca are SIPC protected up to $500,000; UK client money/assets covered by FSCS subject to limitations.
Loading similar brokers…
Important disclosure
Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.
84
/100
Overall score
Overall score is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.
Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Availability
Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.
Personal accounts are available only in listed UK/EEA countries; unavailable outside the service area and for US tax residents/citizens or where restrictions apply.
SourceEvidence
Regulated in the EU by EFSA/Finantsinspektsioon and in the UK by the FCA.
SourceEFSA licence 4.1-1/31, EFSA crypto-asset services permission 4.1-1/147, FCA FRN 987226.
SourceEU services are provided by Lightyear Europe AS; UK services by Lightyear U.K. Ltd.
SourceNo negative balance protection statement found; Lightyear appears to be cash/investment-only without leverage or short-selling.
SourceEU investor protection up to €20,000; US securities held with Alpaca are SIPC protected up to $500,000; UK client money/assets covered by FSCS subject to limitations.
SourceNo general minimum deposit was disclosed. Savings/Vaults states no minimums/no maximums and 'From 1€ to infinity'.
SourceLightyear does not disclose a spread-from trading model for stocks/ETFs; pricing lists fixed/percentage order fees and 0.35% FX conversion fee.
SourceETFs free; US shares 0.10% ($0.10 min/$1 max); UK shares £1; EUR-denominated stocks/bonds/ETNs/ETCs €1; other European shares 0.10% with local minimums; crypto 0.45%; MMFs 0.10%-0.15% annual Lightyear fee.
SourcePersonal accounts are available only in listed UK/EEA countries; unavailable outside the service area and for US tax residents/citizens or where restrictions apply.
Source6,000+ stocks/funds including US, European and UK stocks, ETFs, money market funds, Baltic stocks, Baltic bonds and EU crypto assets.
SourceAvailable on Android and iOS mobile apps and Lightyear web application; no API offered.
SourcePersonal and business accounts; UK GIA, Cash ISA and Stocks & Shares ISA; local tax-advantaged Estonian Investeerimiskonto and Hungarian TBSZ.
SourceVS next
These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.
Overall 91 · Trust 100
Lightyear does not offer leveraged CFD/futures/options trading; no maximum leverage applies.
SourceLocal bank deposits are generally free; fast card/Apple Pay/Google Pay deposits cost 0.6%; USD FedWire and USD SWIFT receiving fee is $6.11.
SourceLocal withdrawals are free from Lightyear; SWIFT withdrawals have no Lightyear fee but intermediary fees may apply.
SourceNo monthly/account/custody fee; no inactivity fee found in official pricing/help pages reviewed.
SourceEUR SEPA and cards/wallets; GBP FPS/CHAPS/BACS/cards/wallets/SWIFT; USD ACH/FedWire/SWIFT; HUF local bank transfers.
SourceLocal withdrawals for EUR/GBP/USD subject to prior bank details; GBP and USD SWIFT withdrawals may be available after bank statement verification.
Source
Overall 91 · Trust 100

Overall 91 · Trust 100