Restricted Countries
Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.
SourceYour research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading brokers…
Your research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading broker profile…

U.S. Bank of America/Merrill online investing platform offering Merrill Edge Self-Directed brokerage and Merrill Guided Investing advisory portfolios through Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated (MLPF&S).
Read first
86
/100
Overall
Overall looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.
Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.
U.S. self-directed investors · Bank of America banking customers · Stock, ETF, mutual fund, bond and options investors
Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.
Before you decide
Withdrawal Processing Time
Public official sources reviewed did not disclose a standard withdrawal processing time for Merrill Edge Self-Directed withdrawals.
Restricted Countries
Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.
Spread From
Not applicable to this stock/ETF investment broker profile; no CFD/FX spread schedule identified as a core product in reviewed sources.
Loading similar brokers…
Important disclosure
Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.
86
/100
Overall score
Overall score looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.
Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.
Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Availability
Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.
Agreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.
SourceEvidence
Registered with the SEC as broker-dealer and investment adviser; member FINRA and SIPC.
SourceOfficial Merrill/BofA sources reviewed did not disclose SEC/FINRA registration or CRD numbers in the captured evidence.
SourceMerrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorporated (MLPF&S) and Managed Account Advisors LLC (MAA).
SourceNo retail negative-balance protection disclosed; margin agreement warns clients can lose more funds than deposited and remain responsible for shortfall.
SourceMember SIPC; investment products are not FDIC insured or bank guaranteed and may lose value.
SourceSelf-Directed: no balance minimum; Guided Investing: $1,000 minimum; CMA: $20,000 minimum funding, not applicable to MESD/MGI/MGI with Advisor/MEAA.
SourceNot applicable to this stock/ETF investment broker profile; no CFD/FX spread schedule identified as a core product in reviewed sources.
SourceSelf-Directed online stock/ETF/options commission $0; options $0.65/contract; broker-assisted fee lower of $29.95 or 5.00% of principal.
SourceAgreement effective only when accepted in the United States; no country restriction list disclosed.
SourceStocks, ETFs, mutual funds, fixed income/bonds, options, brokered CDs, and cash sweep/cash management products.
SourceMerrill Edge online/web, Merrill Edge MarketPro, and Merrill mobile apps.
SourceSelf-directed, guided/advisory, general investing, retirement, education and small business account options, including CMA/BIA/IRA/ROTH/SEP/SIMPLE/529 account types.
SourceVS next
These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.
Overall 91 · Trust 100
No fixed maximum leverage ratio was disclosed; margin requirements vary by security/transaction and are subject to change.
SourceReturned deposit/ACH-related fees listed at $0 in Merrill Edge Self-Directed fee schedule; standard deposit fees not separately disclosed.
SourceWire $24.95; ATM transaction $0; full ACAT/account transfer $49.95; closeout $49.95 for BASIC/IRA/IRRA/ROTH/SEP/SIMPLE.
SourceNo inactivity fee was listed in the official Merrill Edge Self-Directed miscellaneous account/service fee schedule extracted, but the official source did not explicitly say 'no inactivity fee'.
SourceBank of America transfers, external financial institution transfers, mobile check deposit, direct deposit/EFT, and account/securities transfers.
EFT, checks/check-writing, debit card, wire transfer and linked Bank of America/Merrill transfers.
Source
Overall 91 · Trust 100
Overall 88 · Trust 93