Restricted Countries
["Canada-focused; account eligibility generally requires Canadian residency/SIN for many account types; temporary Canadian residents may apply for a non-registered cash account in branch"]
SourceYour research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading brokers…
Your research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading broker profile…

Canadian bank-backed self-directed investing platform from TD Waterhouse Canada Inc., a subsidiary of The Toronto-Dominion Bank, offering WebBroker, TD app, Advanced Dashboard and TD Active Trader access for Canadian and U.S. stocks, ETFs, options, mutual funds, fixed income, GICs, new issues and gold/silver certificates.
Read first
84
/100
Overall
Overall is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Headline score from research fields, regulation evidence, and scoring payload.
Forex/CFD traders comparing cost, platforms, trust, and withdrawal terms.
Entity, country restrictions, and high-risk fee fields should be checked carefully.
Before you decide
Restricted Countries
["Canada-focused; account eligibility generally requires Canadian residency/SIN for many account types; temporary Canadian residents may apply for a non-registered cash account in branch"]
Negative Balance Protection
Not disclosed as a formal negative-balance-protection policy; margin/cash account debit balances and under-margined/debit balance handling fees are disclosed
Withdrawal Processing Time
Not disclosed; TD reserves the right to require a seven-day notice period for intended withdrawals
Withdrawal Fee
EFT fee not disclosed in reviewed sources; cheque pick-up $6.50; registered full withdrawal $100 excluding RDSP/RESP/TFSA/RRIF; partial RRSP/Basic RRSP/LIRA/LRSP withdrawal $25; account transfer out $150
Loading similar brokers…
Important disclosure
Availability, fees, investor protection, and regulation can vary by country and legal entity. Verify the broker and regulator details directly before opening an account.
84
/100
Overall score
Overall score is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Trust looks strong, with high-confidence evidence. Still verify country/entity terms.
Withdrawal is usable, but check the supporting evidence and caveats.
Availability
Availability can vary by legal entity, account type, and local regulation. Treat this as a shortlist signal and verify details with the broker before opening an account.
["Canada-focused; account eligibility generally requires Canadian residency/SIN for many account types; temporary Canadian residents may apply for a non-registered cash account in branch"]
SourceEvidence
["Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization (CIRO)"]
SourceCIRO dealer member; specific license/registration number not found in reviewed public TD pages
Source["TD Waterhouse Canada Inc."]
SourceNot disclosed as a formal negative-balance-protection policy; margin/cash account debit balances and under-margined/debit balance handling fees are disclosed
SourceCanadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF) coverage through TD Waterhouse Canada Inc. as a CIPF Investment Dealer member firm
Source0
SourceNot applicable to disclosed stock/ETF/options commission model; bond/GIC fixed-income commissions are embedded in quoted prices
SourceOnline/app: select ETFs $0; Canadian and U.S. stocks $9.99 per trade standard or $7.00 active trader; partial shares $1.99; options $9.99 + $1.25/contract standard or $7.00 + $1.25/contract active trader
Source["Canada-focused; account eligibility generally requires Canadian residency/SIN for many account types; temporary Canadian residents may apply for a non-registered cash account in branch"]
Source["Stocks", "ETFs", "Options", "Fixed income securities", "GICs", "Mutual funds", "New Issues", "Gold and silver certificates"]
Source["WebBroker", "TD app", "Advanced Dashboard", "TD Active Trader", "Telephone Services"]
Source["Self-Directed Cash Trading Account", "Self-Directed Margin Account", "Self-Directed Active Trader Margin Account", "TFSA", "FHSA", "RRSP", "RRIF", "RESP", "RDSP"]
SourceVS next
These brokers share similar type or asset-class signals. Open the VS page to compare regulation, cost, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.
Overall 91 · Trust 100
Security- and margin-account dependent; public reviewed pages do not disclose a single maximum leverage ratio
SourceNo charge for deposits/contributions through EasyLine, EasyWeb, TD Canada Trust branch or TD Direct Investing location; third-party/ABM/banking fees may apply for MoneyLink/other services
SourceEFT fee not disclosed in reviewed sources; cheque pick-up $6.50; registered full withdrawal $100 excluding RDSP/RESP/TFSA/RRIF; partial RRSP/Basic RRSP/LIRA/LRSP withdrawal $25; account transfer out $150
SourceNo inactivity fee found; TD discloses a $25 quarterly maintenance fee for households under $15,000 unless waiver criteria are met
Source["TD Canada Trust EasyWeb/TD app transfers", "WebBroker transfer", "Interac e-Transfer from another bank", "online bill payment", "TD Canada Trust branch", "TD Bank U.S. branch", "EasyLine telephone banking", "transfer in cash or in kind from another brokerage"]
Source["Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT)", "TD Canada Trust branch or TD Direct Investing location cheque pick-up", "systematic mutual fund withdrawals", "investment income sweeps"]
Source
Overall 91 · Trust 100
Overall 88 · Trust 93