Loading broker comparison
Your research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading broker comparison…
Your research is on its way. You can keep using the navigation above.
Loading broker comparison…
Compare trust, fees, platforms, and withdrawals. See the trade-offs and details worth checking before you choose.
Choose brokers
The comparison reads the same evidence fields used by broker profiles, so users can scan scores, regulation, costs, platforms, withdrawals, and caveats side by side.
| VS field | ![]() | ![]() |
|---|---|---|
Decision summary | ||
| Overall score | ||
81 |
91 |
| Trust score | 86 | 100 |
|---|
| Cost score | 82 | 89 |
|---|
| Platform score | 78 | 94 |
|---|
| Withdrawal score | 70 | 89 |
|---|
| Best for | Beginner and intermediate U.S. investors · Existing SoFi banking/loan customers wanting an integrated app · Investors seeking $0 stock/ETF/options commissions | Evidence supports Fidelity as a U.S.-focused, highly regulated multi-asset broker for stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds/CDs, options, cash management, managed portfolios, and sepa… |
|---|
| Watch out | Needs verification | Needs verification |
|---|
Trust & regulation | ||
|---|---|---|
| Regulators | SoFi Securities LLC is FINRA/SIPC member; SoFi Wealth LLC is an SEC-registered investment adviser. Source | Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC is SEC registered and regulated by FINRA; FBS and NFS are members of NYSE and SIPC. Source |
| License numbers | SoFi Securities LLC: CRD# 151717/SEC# 8-68389; SoFi Wealth LLC: CRD# 167958/SEC# 801-78185. Source | FBS CRD# 7784 / SEC# 8-23292; NFS CRD# 13041 / SEC# 801-50706, 8-26740. Source |
| Regulated entities | SoFi Invest is a trade name used by SoFi Wealth LLC and SoFi Securities LLC; SoFi Wealth provides robo/advisory services and SoFi Securities provides brokerage/self-directed services. Source | Primary securities brokerage entities are Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC (FBS) and National Financial Services LLC (NFS), each member NYSE/SIPC; advisory and crypto entities differ by product. Source |
| Negative balance protection | No negative-balance protection identified; SoFi margin disclosure warns it is possible to lose more than the initial investment when using margin. Source | Not applicable/not disclosed as a CFD-style negative balance protection policy; margin trading can create debt/interest obligations. Source |
| Investor compensation | SIPC up to $500,000 including $250,000 cash; not market-loss protection. Source | SIPC coverage up to $500,000/$250,000 cash plus Fidelity excess SIPC; FDIC sweep coverage may apply to eligible cash programs; important exclusions apply. Source |
| Restricted countries | Official public sources reviewed confirm U.S. state/territory registrations for SoFi Securities but do not provide a complete non-U.S. country restriction list for account opening. Source | U.S.-persons focused; sanctioned countries/prohibited parties restricted; no exhaustive country availability list found. Source |
Costs & account conditions | ||
|---|---|---|
| Minimum deposit | Self-Directed minimum to begin investing: $5; Robo-Advisor minimum to begin investing: $50. Source | $0 to open a retail brokerage account; Fidelity states no account minimum and ability to invest with as little as $1; exceptions apply by account/product. Source |
| Spread from | Not applicable: SoFi Invest is not presented as a forex/CFD spread broker in the researched official sources. Source | Not applicable to Fidelity's core U.S. stock/ETF brokerage model; securities trade by exchange/market prices rather than quoted CFD/FX spreads. Source |
| Commission | $0 commissions on U.S. stocks, ETFs and options; other/regulatory fees apply. Source | $0 online U.S. stock and ETF trades; $0 online options commission plus $0.65/contract; other product/service fees apply. Source |
| Maximum leverage | No maximum securities margin leverage ratio disclosed in the researched official pages; margin loans use tiered interest rates instead. Source | No universal maximum leverage ratio disclosed for Fidelity retail brokerage; margin borrowing is available subject to approval and margin requirements/rates rather than a single max leverage figure. Source |
| Deposit fee | Incoming ACAT $0; incoming wire $0; returned/insufficient funds $30. Source | $0 Fidelity fee for EFT and Fidelity does not charge wire fees; external banks may charge. Source |
| Withdrawal fee | Outgoing ACAT $100; outgoing wire $25; DRS $115/security. Source | $0 Fidelity fee for EFT and domestic bank wire withdrawals; foreign exchange wire up to 3% of principal; receiving bank may charge. Source |
| Inactivity fee | $25 per account per 6 months of login inactivity. Source | No explicit inactivity-fee line found in official fee schedule; official account pages state no retail brokerage account fees/no account or subscription fees. Treat as needs manual confirmation before publishing as '$0 inactivity fee'. Source |
Markets, platforms & payments | ||
|---|---|---|
| Tradable assets | Stocks, OTC securities, ETFs, options, IPOs, fractional shares, mutual funds, alternative/interval funds, private market funds/SPVs through Templum referral, and managed robo portfolios. Source | Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, crypto, fixed income, bonds and CDs; Fidelity says stocks include domestic and international. Source |
| Trading platforms | Trading via the SoFi app or website; app available on iOS and Android. Source | Fidelity.com, Fidelity mobile app, Fidelity Trader+ Web/Desktop/Mobile mode, and legacy Active Trader Pro Classic. Source |
| Account types | Self-Directed includes Roth, Traditional, and SEP IRAs; Robo-Advisor includes Roth, Traditional, and SEP IRAs; Robo supports individual brokerage and retirement accounts. Source | Broad account menu including taxable brokerage, retirement/IRA, cash management, HSA, custodial/youth, education, trust/business, managed and crypto accounts. Source |
| Deposit methods | Supported money movement includes incoming ACATs, incoming wires, and ACH/cash transfer from SoFi Bank accounts for eligible IRA contributions; other deposit methods not fully enumerated publicly. Source | EFT/ACH, bank wire, check/mobile check, direct deposit, recurring deposit, Fidelity-to-Fidelity/account transfer, transfer of assets, and eligible payment apps. Source |
| Withdrawal methods | Outgoing ACAT, outgoing wire, and DRS transfers are listed with fees; ACH withdrawal processing/details were not fully disclosed in public fee sources. Source | EFT/ACH, bank wire, paper check, Fidelity-to-Fidelity transfers, third-party/person-to-person transfers and eligible debit card/ATM access. Source |
| Withdrawal processing time | Public official sources reviewed did not disclose standard withdrawal processing times for SoFi Invest. Source | EFT withdrawals 1-3 business days; bank wire same day if submitted by 4 p.m. ET; paper check about 5-6 days. Source |
BrokerVS provides broker comparison research only. Scores and evidence can vary by country, account type, and legal entity; users should verify source links before opening an account.